CBCA Book of the Year Awards - 2016 Winners

The CBCA Book of the Year Awards have been announced for 2016*. Congratulations to all the winners!


The Book of the Year: Older Readers

Cloudwish by Fiona Wood


Honour Books: Older Readers

A Single Stone by Meg McKinlay

Inbetween Days by Vikki Wakefield



The Book of the Year: Younger Readers

Soon by Morris Gleitzman


Honour Books: Younger Readers

Sister Heart by Sally Morgan

Shadows of the Master by Emily Rodda


The Book of the Year: Early Childhood

Mr Huff by Anna Walker

Mr Huff

Honour Books: Early Childhood

Perfect by Danny Parker

The Cow Tripped Over the Moon by Tony Wilson



The Eve Pownall Award for Information Books

Lennie The Legend: Solo to Sydney by Pony by Stephanie Owen Reeder

Lennie the Legend

Honour Books: Information Books

Phasmid: Saving the Lord Howe Island Stick Insect by Coral Tulloch

Ancestry: Stories of Multicultural Anzacs by Robyn Siers


The Picture Book of the Year

Flight by Armin Greder (Text: Nadia Wheatley)


Honour Book: Picture Books

Ride, Ricardo, Ride by Phill Cumming

One Step at a Time by Jane Jolly


Crichton Award for new illustrator

Underwater Fancy Dress Parade by Allison Colploys (Text: Davina Bell)

Underwater fancy dress parade


*  The Children's Book Council of Australia (CBCA) is a not for profit, volunteer run organisation which aims to engage the community with literature for young Australians. The CBCA presents annual awards to books of literary merit, for outstanding contribution to Australian children's literature.